RicardMN
RicardMN

Sligo Abbey Interior BW

Sligo Abbey (Irish: Mainistir Shligigh), a ruined abbey in Sligo, Ireland, (officially called the Dominican Friary of Sligo) was originally built in 1253 by the...
Read more

Sligo Abbey (Irish: Mainistir Shligigh), a ruined abbey in Sligo, Ireland, (officially called the Dominican Friary of Sligo) was originally built in 1253 by the order of Maurice Fitzgerald, Baron of Offaly. It was destroyed in 1414 by a fire, ravaged during the Nine Years' War in 1595 and once more in 1641 during the Ulster Uprising. The friars moved out in the 18th century, but Lord Palmerston restored the Abbey in the 1850s.

Known locally as the Abbey, the site contains a great wealth of carvings including Gothic and Renaissance tomb sculpture, well preserved cloister and the only sculptured 15th century high altar to survive in any Irish monastic church.

It appears in two short stories by William Butler Yeats: "The Crucifixion of the Outcast", set in the Middle Ages, and "The Curse of the Fires and of the Shadows" describing its destruction in 1641.

https:--fineartamerica.com-featured-sligo-abbey-interior-bw-ricardmn-photography.html
Read less

Views

43

Likes

Awards

Peer Award
photoABSTRACTION Chr16 russellgaughen louissteyn ChibaBob deanmelbourne gerhardprinsloo
Superb Composition
wideopenspaces
Outstanding Creativity
colehouse

Submitted to Photo Contests

Categories


1 Comment | Report
ChibaBob
 
ChibaBob May 28, 2018
Great photo. Love the processing on this. It gives the perfect mood.
RicardMN
RicardMN May 29, 2018
Thank you!!

Same photographer See all

Discover more photos See all